Attention College graduates who are currently spending too many hours fixing your resumes, perusing career websites,  attending "networking events," searching craigslist, and miserably signing up for LSAT courses because...well... there's a plan that sounds good.

And Welcome
perspective Career Israel participants, current participants, curious applicants. Welcome to the reader who is searching the web looking for something meaningful to do with their life. Welcome to the reader who googled "Israel" and "Job" and miraculously stumbled across a link that contained both words and didn't require a resume or cover letter. Welcome to the reader looking for a way to come to Israel with some purpose.  I graduated from college with an honors degree in English Literature backed with lots and lots of wonderful - supposed-to-connect-you-to-future-jobs-type -of-internships, and yet found myself only with question marks. As my second year post college graduation began, my fellow peers were returning as a second year teacher, promoted to head matre di at a five star NYC restaurant, beginning law school, going into labor, planning weddings and deeply entrenched in graduate school studying...I was left with a big question mark as the first job I took out of college announced it was going out of business.

Before coming to Israel I spent months doing the most annoying and supposedly strategic thing possible: Networking. Based on the business cards I now have stacked on my desk at home, I met with over 30 people about job opportunities. And  yet when it came down to it, "what do you want to be doing?" I had no answer. With no answer, no one can help. And that is why I decided I needed to spend some time away, not touring and shopping, bumming on the beach or partying, but working toward figuring out my career without all of the expectations, distractions, and competition that laced my career searching at home.

Why did I come on Career Israel? I am 24 years old and despite the "financial crises my company went out of business" reality, I had a job offer at home in NYC. When I am constantly asked at work: "You gave up a job in NEW YORK to come work for FREE in Israel? What kind of experience are you going to get in Israel that you wouldn't get in NY?" or "We don't do internships..." Yes - kind of embarassing. But yet, as I am now completing my third month here, I actually feel confident that this was the right choice.

Bottom line - finding a job is hard because the economy sucks, it is hard to find a job that will carry you through and make you happy, and employers in general reflect very well on people who spend time out of the country. If you have not yet picked up a copy of Start Up Nation, now is the time. Israel is filled with entrepreneurial spirit and the motivation to make things happen. For someone searching for their next career choice, this is a lovely environment to participate
6/13/2011 12:10:47 pm

Nice information, many thanks to the author. It is incomprehensible to me now but in general, the usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Thanks again and good luck!

Reply
7/1/2012 04:28:39 pm

My partner and I enjoyed reading this write-up; I just wanted to know do you trade featured articles or blog posts? I am always trying to find somebody to make trades with and simply thought I'd ask.

Reply
7/10/2012 04:21:22 pm

Thank you very much !! You have shared very good information with us. I will also tell about it to my friends also in fact all the people known to me.

Reply
7/10/2012 08:06:10 pm

thank you for sharing this blog really i read it and very enjoyed. i hope you will keep share with me..

Reply
7/10/2012 08:26:56 pm

what a great info share with me i impressed and enjoyed read it..i hope who will read it really get new info and knowledge..thanks for sharing

Reply
7/10/2012 08:27:45 pm

what a great info share with me i impressed and enjoyed read it..i hope who will read it really get new info and knowledge..thanks and carry on for sharing.

Reply
7/12/2012 05:55:53 pm

Many thanks for the exciting blog posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a brilliant writer. I actually added your blog to my favorites and will look forward for more updates.Great Job,Keep it up..

Reply
7/16/2012 06:51:57 pm

My partner and I enjoyed reading this write-up; I just wanted to know do you trade featured articles or blog posts? I am always trying to find somebody to make trades with and simply thought I'd ask.

Reply



Leave a Reply.