This weekend Stef, Becca, Keren, and I went to visit our friend Guy from camp his Kibbutz: Kibbutz Gazit. It was a BLAST! Kibbutz life is very interesting and, to be honest, something I could get VERY used to. Everything is so relaxed and everyone is a big family. Compared to Tel Aviv, you could hear a pin drop it was so peaceful! This particular kibbutz is a dairy farm.They used to have a school and have the children live separately from their parents during schooling, but they have modernized. There are about 300 families who live on the kibbutz. Families live in beautiful homes that are able to accommodate everyone. When the children turn 18 and after they go to the army, they are able to live in a small apartment-like room for a couple of years before going to school. The kibbutz also has a huge dining hall, rec-room, classrooms, places for teens to hang out, sports facilities, and other amenities a tiny town would need. 

On Friday when we arrived, we went directly to Guy’s parents house to meet them, along with his brother, sister, brother-in-law, and nephews. Everyone was so welcoming and a felt at home the minute I walked into the house. We enjoyed some mint tea (grown in their backyard) and a small snack to hold us over before Shabbat dinner. We went to Guy’s apartment/room to freshen up and then headed to the dining hall (chadder ochel) for Shabbat dinner. Everyone in the kibbutz comes together for the meal, which is served buffet style. You name the food, they had it! Schnitzel, chicken, meatballs, rice, mashed potatoes, bilinzies, soup, salad, ect. It was delicious and all home cooked. After a filling meal, we headed to the moadon-the rec room-for some coffee and cookies. We sat outside and watched all of the adorable little children play together. The best part in my opinion of living on a kibbutz is how many children there are to play with! Since we OBVIOUSLY didn’t have enough to eat before (cough cough YEAH RIGHT), we went back to Guy’s parents for dessert. When we finished, we headed over to the local Kibbutz pub for a few beers and cards before finally calling it a night.

The next day, we took a nice tour of the entire kibbutz. Guy was a great tour guide and showed us the ins and outs. We headed over to the dairy farm to meet the cows and goats.We were able to see how they milk the cows and pet the little calves.Becca and Keren were brave and let the baby suck on their fingers. Gross! When we finished in the farm, we took a wonderful walk to the orchards. There they grow avacados, oranges, lemons, and delicious pamellows (they were my favorite!). We enjoyed a pamellow while sitting in a beautiful memorial.Afterwards we headed back to Guy’s parents for lunch. We had chinese noodles, chicken, empanadas, and of course dessert. Sadly it was time to say goodbye not soon after the meal and we hopped on the bus back to noisy Tel Aviv. I will definitely be back soon!

As a post birthday celebration, my friends and I went to MAX BRENNER’S! Chocolate chocolate EVERYWHERE! DELICIOUS!

**The sharing platter, which most of us got, had fondue (with assorted cookies and fruits), marshmallows (with a fire to roast them), waffle, chocolate egg roll, benyas, a shot of chocolate, ice cream (vanilla, white, dark, or milk chocolate flavored), and chocolate pudding. AKA: CHOCOLATE COMA!

11/10/2010 11:54:44 am

Human hope like a star eternal stars, And the dark clouds can't hide its rays. Especially in today, Peace is not a dream, a dream, It is people's desire.

Reply
8/27/2013 09:54:04 pm

I would like to thank you for your nicely written post, its informative and your writing style encouraged me to read it till end

Reply
11/28/2010 04:54:15 pm

Still be the white snow princess in be passionately in love, allow when to be awaited.

Reply
12/6/2010 09:41:16 am

Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful!

Reply
3/16/2011 04:15:04 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
3/17/2011 11:02:07 am

I'm just surprised to discover how a lot of details I received on this specific topic. I m so really thankful of you. A single issue I could assert that, after reading this put up I became preserved from the whole ineffective search I ought to have performed on this particular matter. Your write-up is really a authentic fantastic point in disguise.

Reply
3/18/2011 05:04:14 pm

I agree with the above postings. Love checking in on this blog and reading the feedback you receive!

Reply
3/20/2011 10:30:17 am

Thank you for taking this opportunity to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and I benefit from learning about this topic. If achievable, as you gain data, please update this weblog with new details. I have discovered it very valuable! I admiring time and effort you put within your weblog, due to the fact it's obviously one particular terrific place where I can locate great deal of helpful info. Bookmarked and I will share it. Thank you a great deal!

Reply
3/20/2011 04:12:11 pm

It's easy take me to your heart
Standing on a mountain high
Looking at the moon through a clear blue sky
I should go and see some friends
But they don't really comprehend
Don't need too much talking without saying anything
All I need is someone who makes me wanna sing

Take me to your heart take me to your soul
Give me your hand before I'm old
Show me what love is - haven't got a clue
Show me that wonders can be true

Reply
3/21/2011 01:55:30 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale ! Absence to love is what wind is to fire. It extinguishes the small; it inflames the great.

Reply
3/27/2011 01:27:10 pm

It is not enough to be industrious, so are the ants. What are you industrious for?

Reply
3/27/2011 06:51:02 pm

There is no rose without a thorn.

Reply
9/25/2012 04:36:32 pm

Thanks for posting this useful article. It was really helpful for me. I gained a lot of information reading your post. Many thanks for this wonderful post. Best of luck.

Reply
8/19/2013 07:58:17 pm

Living in large families is really helpful for the children while growing up. They learn to be considerate about others and to make a good living in harmony with other people. Besides, they have a sense of ownership among themselves.

Reply
3/13/2014 10:46:02 am

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply



Leave a Reply.